Medicaid/FAMIS Application Assistance

VHCF-funded Outreach Workers provide one-on-one help to individuals and families who want to apply for or learn more about Medicaid/FAMIS programs. Help can be provided remotely.


Find out more by contacting the organization nearest you.

Application Assistance Locations (*Application Assistance available in Spanish se habla espanol):

Central Region
Organization: Richmond City Health District
Localities Served: Henrico County and Richmond City
Contact: Jasmine Hawkins
Email: Jasmine.hawkins@vdh.virginia.gov
Call/Text: 804-664-4759

Organization: Virginia Health Care Foundation*
Localities Served: Chesterfield and Henrico Counties, and Richmond City
Contact: Norma Ryan
Email: Norma@vhcf.org
Call/Text: 804-955-9578

Northern Region
Organization: Inova Partnership for Healthier Communities-Fairfax/Alexandria*
Localities Served: Arlington and Fairfax Counties, Alexandria, Fairfax, and Falls Church Cities
Contacts:
Call: 703-698-2550
Text: 703-479-0330
Christina Bonilla – Christina.bonilla@inova.org
Gisella Cordova – Gisella.cordova@inova.org
Irma Reyes – Irma.reyes@inova.org

Organization: Inova Partnership for Healthier Communities-Prince William*
Localities Served: Prince William County, Manassas City, and Manassas Park City
Contact: Paulo Gallo-Pacheco
Email: Paulo.gallo-pacheco@inova.org
Call/Text: 703-967-3772

Organization: Inova Partnership for Healthier Communities-Loudoun*
Localities Served: Loudoun County
Contact: Hyrcania Valenin
Email: Hyrcania.valentin@inova.org
Call/Text: 703-579-7161

Organization: Neighborhood Health*
Localities Served: Arlington and Fairfax Counties, Alexandria, Fairfax and Falls Church Cities
Email: eligibility@neighborhoodhealthva.org
Call/Text: 703-269-7284

Southwest Region
Organization: Cumberland Plateau Health District
Localities Served: Buchanan, Smyth, Tazewell, and Wythe Counties, and Lee, Russell, Scott, and Washington Counties
Contacts:
Lisa Starling
Email: Lisa.starling@vdh.virginia.gov
Call/Text: 276-254-2934
Pat McGlothlin
Email: Pat.mcglothlin@vdh.virginia.gov
Call/Text: 276-254-2919

Organization: The Health Wagon
Localities Served: Dickenson and Wise Counties, and Norton City
Contact: Donna Crabtree
Email: dcrabtree@thehealthwagon.org
Call/Text: 276-870-2379

Southside Region
Organization: Danville-Pittsylvania Community Services
Localities Served: Pittsylvania County and Danville City
Contacts:
Francina Jones
Email: fjones@dpcs.org
Call/Text: 434-770-1641

Organization: Martinsville-Henry County Coalition for Health & Wellness
Localities Served: Henry and Patrick Counties, Martinsville City
Contact: Ann Walker
Email: awalker@healthcommunitymhc.org
Call/Text: 276-732-0509

Organization: Virginia Legal Aid Society
Localities Served: Halifax County
Contact: Liz Cunningham
Email: lizc@vlas.org
Call/Text: 434-515-0497

Tidewater Region
Organization: Norfolk Department of Health
Localities Served: Norfolk City
Contact: Ester Dejesus-Melvin*
Email: Ester.dejesus-melvin@vdh.virginia.gov
Call/Text: 757-284-4812
Contact: Denise Parker
Email: Denise.parker@vdh.virginia.gov
Call/Text: 757-285-7841

In addition to the one-on-one help available, you can find out more about Medicaid/FAMIS by:

  • Visiting the CoverVA website
  • Contacting the Cover Virginia Call Center at: 1-855-242-8282
  • Calling SignUpNow for help at: 1-804-828-6062

If you need further assistance, please contact
Emily Roller, VHCF’s Child Health Insurance Program Manager, at emily@vhcf.org or 804-828-5976.

Last Updated on September 23, 2021