Medicaid/FAMIS Application Assistance

VHCF’s Medicaid/FAMIS application assistance grants fund local outreach and enrollment efforts that help individuals and families apply for Virginia’s state-sponsored health insurance programs. These grants are made possible with funding from the Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services , the U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, the Danville Regional Foundation, the Harvest Foundation, Sentara/Optima Health, and the Tobacco Region Revitalization Commission.

Grants:

  • Target areas of the state with high populations of uninsured individuals/families.
  • Can be used only to help increase enrollment and retention Medicaid/FAMIS.
  • Can be applied for only via special Requests For Proposals (RFPs) as new funds become available.
  • Require applicants to also meet all general VHCF eligibility requirements.

While VHCF’s existing grantees continue to make record progress enrolling individuals/families in Medicaid/FAMIS, no new grants are being made at this time.  Since 1999, over 115,000 Virginians  enroll in Medicaid/FAMIS programs.

VHCF will issue Requests for Proposals (RFPs) as funds become available.

For more information or to be alerted to future, contact Emily Roller, VHCF’s Health Insurance Program Manager at emily@vhcf.org or 804-828-5976.

Application Assistance Locations (*Application Assistance available in Spanish):

Central Region
Organization: Richmond City Health District
Localities Served: Henrico County and Richmond City
Contact: Sonya Giles
Email: Sonya.giles@vdh.virginia.gov
Call/Text: 804-664-4759

Organization: Virginia Health Care Foundation*
Localities Served: Chesterfield and Henrico Counties, and Richmond City
Contact: Norma Ryan
Email: Norma@vhcf.org
Call/Text: 804-955-9578

Northern Region
Organization: Inova Partnership for Healthier Communities-Fairfax/Alexandria*
Localities Served: Arlington and Fairfax Counties, Alexandria, Fairfax, and Falls Church Cities
Contacts:
Call: 703-698-2550
Text: 703-479-0330
Christina Bonilla – Christina.bonilla@inova.org
Gisella Cordova – Gisella.cordova@inova.org
Irma Reyes – Irma.reyes@inova.org

Organization: Inova Partnership for Healthier Communities-Prince William*
Localities Served: Prince William County, Manassas City, and Manassas Park City
Contact: Ana Pineda
Email: Ana.pineda@inova.org
Call/Text: 703-967-3772

Organization: Inova Partnership for Healthier Communities-Loudoun*
Localities Served: Loudoun County
Contact: Hyrcania Valenin
Email: Hyrcania.valentin@inova.org
Call/Text: 703-579-7161

Organization: Neighborhood Health*
Localities Served: Arlington and Fairfax Counties, Alexandria, Fairfax and Falls Church Cities
Email: eligibility@neighborhoodhealthva.org
Call/Text: 703-269-7284

Southwest Region
Organization: Cumberland Plateau Health District
Localities Served: Buchanan, Smyth, Tazewell, and Wythe Counties, and Lee, Russell, Scott, and Washington Counties
Contacts:
Lisa Starling
Email: Lisa.starling@vdh.virginia.gov
Call/Text: 276-254-2934
Pat McGlothlin
Email: Pat.mcglothlin@vdh.virginia.gov
Call/Text: 276-254-2919

Organization: The Health Wagon
Localities Served: Dickenson and Wise Counties, and Norton City
Contact: Donna Crabtree
Email: dcrabtree@thehealthwagon.org
Call/Text: 276-870-2379

Southside Region
Organization: Danville-Pittsylvania Community Services
Localities Served: Pittsylvania County and Danville City
Contacts:
Francina Jones
Email: fjones@dpcs.org
Call/Text: 434-770-1641
Linda Williams
Email: lwilliams4@dpcs.org
Call/Text: 434-770-0698

Organization: Martinsville-Henry County Coalition for Health & Wellness
Localities Served: Henry and Patrick Counties, Martinsville City
Contact: Ann Walker
Email: awalker@healthcommunitymhc.org
Call/Text: 276-732-0509

Organization: Virginia Legal Aid Society
Localities Served: Halifax County
Contact: Liz Cunningham
Email: lizc@vlas.org
Call/Text: 434-515-0497

Tidewater Region
Organization: Norfolk Department of Health
Localities Served: Norfolk City
Contact: Ester Dejesus-Melvin*
Email: Ester.dejesus-melvin@vdh.virginia.gov
Call/Text: 757-284-4812
Contact: Denise Parker
Email: Denise.parker@vdh.virginia.gov
Call/Text: 757-285-7841