Project Connect Grants

VHCF’s Project Connect grants fund local outreach and enrollment efforts that help individuals and families apply for Virginia’s state-sponsored health insurance programs. These grants are made possible with funding from the Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services, the U.S. Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services, and other private funders, including the Tobacco Region Revitalization Commission, the Danville Regional Foundation, Sentara/Optima Health, and the Harvest Foundation.

Special requirements regarding Project Connect Grants:

  • Are targeted to the areas of the state with the highest populations of uninsured Virginians.
  • Can be used only to help increase enrollment and retention in Medicaid/FAMIS.
  • Can be applied for only via special Requests For Proposals (RFPs) as new funds become available.
  • Applicants for Project Connect funding also must meet all general VHCF eligibility requirements.

While VHCF’s existing Project Connect grantees continue to make record progress enrolling Virginians in Medicaid/FAMIS, no new Project Connect grants are being made at this time.

VHCF will issue Requests for Proposals (RFPs) as funds become available.

For more information or to be alerted to future Project Connect RFPs, contact Emily Roller, VHCF’s Health Insurance Program Manager at emily@vhcf.org or 804-828-5976.

Application Assistance Locations (*Application Assistance available in Spanish):

Central Region
Organization: Richmond City Health District
Localities Served: Richmond City
Contact: Lyric Shipp
Email: Lyric.Shipp@vdh.virginia.gov
Call/Text: 804-664-4759

Organization: Virginia Health Care Foundation*
Localities Served: Chesterfield and Henrico Counties, and Richmond City
Contact: Norma Ryan
Email: Norma@vhcf.org
Call/Text: 804-955-9578

Northern Region
Organization: Inova Partnership for Healthier Communities-Fairfax/Alexandria*
Localities Served: Arlington and Fairfax Counties, Alexandria, Fairfax, and Falls Church Cities
Contacts:
Call: 703-698-2550
Text: 703-479-0330
Christina Bonilla – Christina.bonilla@inova.org
Irma Reyes – Irma.reyes@inova.org
Hyrcania Valentin – Hyrcania.Valentin@inova.org

Organization: Inova Partnership for Healthier Communities-Prince William*
Localities Served: Prince William County, Manassas City, and Manassas Park City
Contact: Karla Villalta
Email: Karla.Villalta@inova.org
Call/Text: 703-967-3772

Organization: Inova Partnership for Healthier Communities-Loudoun*
Localities Served: Loudoun County
Contact: Andrea Narvaez
Email: Andrea.Narvaez@inova.org
Call/Text: 703-579-7161

Organization: Neighborhood Health*
Localities Served: Arlington and Fairfax Counties, Alexandria, Fairfax and Falls Church Cities
Email: eligibility@neighborhoodhealthva.org
Call/Text: 703-269-7284

Western/Southwest Region
Organization: Bradley Free Clinic
Localities Served: Roanoke County, Roanoke and Salem Cities
Contact: Gayle Clary
Email: Gayle@bradleyfreeclinic.com
Call: 540-344-5156

Organization: Cumberland Plateau Health District
Localities Served: Dickenson, Lee, Russell, Scott, Washington and Wise Counties; Norton and Bristol Cities
Contact: Pat McGlothlin
Email: Pat.mcglothlin@vdh.virginia.gov
Call/Text: 276-254-2919

Localities Served: Buchanan, Smyth, Tazewell and Wythe Counties
Contact: Betsy Ball
Email: betsy.ball@vdh.virginia.gov
Call/Text: 276-385-5571

Organization: The Health Wagon
Localities Served: Dickenson and Wise Counties, and Norton City
Contact: Heather Mays
Email: hmays@thehealthwagon.org
Call/Text: 276-870-2379

Southside Region
Organization: Martinsville-Henry County Coalition for Health & Wellness
Localities Served: Henry and Patrick Counties, Martinsville City
Contact: Ann Walker
Email: awalker@healthcommunitymhc.org
Call/Text: 276-732-0509

Organization: Virginia Legal Aid Society
Localities Served: Halifax County
Contact: Liz Cunningham
Email: lizc@vlas.org
Call/Text: 434-515-0497

Organization: Virginia Legal Aid Society
Localities Served: Pittsylvania County and Danville City
Contact: Joy Cunningham
Email: joyc@vlas.org
Call/Text: 434-770-1641

Tidewater Region
Organization: Norfolk Department of Health
Localities Served: Norfolk City and Virginia Beach City
Contact: Ester Dejesus-Melvin*
Email: Ester.dejesus-melvin@vdh.virginia.gov
Call/Text: 757-284-4812

Contact: Toni Woodhouse
Email: lavenia.woodhouse@vdh.virginia.gov
Call/Text: 757-683-2777

Questions? Contact Emily Roller, VHCF’s Health Insurance Program Manager, at emily@vhcf.org or 804-828-5976.

Last Updated on January 19, 2023